Advisory Board

AdvBoard-Jeanie_AnnThe Advisory Board of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center is a volunteer group of community leaders, many of whom have been touched by cancer in some way. The mission of the board is to raise funds, provide patient amenities and increase awareness of the Cancer Center. This is accomplished through three committees – Income Development, Patient and Family Services, and Communications and Public Relations.

The Advisory Board launches an annual fundraising campaign every November, which benefits various projects at the center. A portion of the funds raised during each campaign, however, are used for patient and family services at the Cancer Center.

The Advisory Board was formed in 1984, under the guidance of Cancer Center Director Emeritus Albert LoBuglio, M.D. The board held its first fundraising campaign in 1986, and since then has raised more than $14 million for the center. The board’s signature event is the annual ArtBLINK Gala, which is held in February and is the culmination of the annual fundraising campaign. For more than 25 years, the Gala has remained one of Birmingham’s premier social events and one of the city’s most unique traditions.

Advisory Board Officers
Mr. Rick Swagler – President
Mrs. Mitzi S. Davis – President-Elect I & Income Development Co-Chair
Mr. Robert Carr – President-Elect II & Income Development Co-Chair

Advisory Board Members
Mrs. Lois Bankston
Ms. Alisa Belcher
Mr. John Bell
Mrs. Jodi Benck
Mr. Frank Bromberg, III
Mr. J. David Brown, III
Mr. George Buchanan
Mr. Gary Burley
Ms. Barbara Burton
Mr. Andrew Case
Mr. Ed Cassady
Mrs. Tony Davis
Mr. Charles DeBardeleben
Mr. Daniel Dillon
Mrs. Trisha Dodson
Mr. William Dodson
Mrs. Betsy Dreher
Mr. Lee Edwards
Mrs. Helene Elkus
Mr. Jay Ezelle
Mr. Albert G. Folcher, Jr.
Mrs. Cathy O. Friedman
Mrs. Lisa Harris
Mrs. Idie Hastings – Communications and Public Relations Co-Chair
Mrs. Ann Hayes
Mr. James F. Hughey, Jr.
Mrs. Lessley O. Hynson – Patient and Family Services Co-Chair
Mr. Robert G. Hynson
Mr. Mark Jackson
Mrs. Betts M. Johnson
Mr. Andy Kaufmann
Ms. Cheryl Levy
Mrs. Christa Lidikay
Mr. Gaines Livingston
Mr. Frank M. Lynch, II*
Mrs. Jeanie H. MacKenzie*
Mr. Caldwell Marks
Mr. Daniel H. Markstein, IV*
Mrs. Terry McBride
Mrs. Laura McDonald
Mr. Edward P. Meyerson*
Mr. Robert Moore
Mr. Colin Moorhouse
Mr. Craft O’Neal
Mr. Richard H. Pardue*
Mrs. Richard H. Pardue*
Mr. L.C. “Foots” Parnell, III*
Mr. Charles D. Perry
Mr. Guin Robinson – Communications and Public Relations Co-Chair
Mrs. Katharine M. Robinson**
Mrs. Kim Rogers
Mr. Joel Rotenstreich
Mrs. Becky Seay
Mr. J. Callen Sparrow*
J. Terrell Spencer, M.D.
Mr. Ralph Summerford
Mr. W. Lee Thuston*
Mr. Sam Todd
Mrs. Lissa H. Tyson
Mr. Jeff Underwood
Mrs. Net Wade
Mrs. Suzanne Wald – Patient and Family Services Co-Chair
Mrs. Lindy Walker
Mrs. Cathy Watson
Mr. Joel Welker*
Mr. George F. Wheelock, III*
Mrs. Susan B. Williams
Mr. Mike Wright

* Denotes Past President
** Denotes Charter Member

Leave a Reply