Young Supporters Board

ysb-2014The Young Supporters Board of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center was established in 2006 to introduce the next generation of Alabamians to the importance of cancer research and awareness. The board is comprised of up-and-coming professionals between the ages of 22 and 35, all of whom have been touched by cancer in some way. Several members are survivors themselves.

The Young Supporters Board hosts projects and fundraisers throughout the year, including the annual Cinco de Mayo-themed Fiesta Ball. The proceeds from these events go toward the board’s Young Investigator Grants, which fund the research of young scientists at the Cancer Center.

The board also provides services and activities for cancer patients in both the center’s inpatient and outpatient units. Throughout the year, board members visit and talk to patients and provide them with meals and holiday treats.

Interesting in joining the Young Supporters Board? Click here to download an application. 

The board encourages younger members of the community to volunteer with its events and/or patient service activities. To learn more, call (205) 934-0034 or e-mail

Click here to like us on Facebook!

Click here to make a gift and support the research of promising young cancer scientists!


Young Supporters Board Officers
Katharine Davis – President
Lauren DeMoss – Vice President
Jessica Jones – Secretary
Charlie Adams – Treasurer
Mary-Margaret Brown and Scott Laney – Income Development Chairs
Sidney Fry and Sarah Gammons – Patient and Family Services Chairs
Danielle Downing and Colin Moorhouse – Communications and Public Relations Chairs
Bonnie Branum – Immediate Past President

Young Supporters Board Members
Joey Azar
Walker Badham
Coleman Beale
Rus Beasley
Rebecca Beers
Kelsey Blair
Matt Bragiel
Rebecca DiPiazza
Henry Graham
Abby Graves
Joe Griffin
Ed Hauser
Martha Hawthorne
Katie Kimbrell
Gaines Livingston
Maloree McDonough
Brooke Moor
Carrie Pittman
Emily Ponsford Goforth
Rachel Powell
Laura Senn
Kelli Slocum
Amy O’Neal Stevens
Blakely Taylor
Scott Thomas
Allison Thompson
Sarah Wilfong
Caroline Williams
Hope Vinson


Leave a Reply