Research Core

The Research Core, in tandem with the Training Core, serves to foster research and career development of new investigators. It serves as a catalyst to promote cancer disparities research within our infrastructure. The Research Core comprises a full research project and three pilot projects over the course of five years.

jtbh-logoThe Full Research Project is led by Dr. Monica Baskin. The overall goal of the Full Research Project is to reduce cancer health disparity by helping 400 African American women achieve and maintain a healthy weight.  This will be implemented using an evidence based behavioral weigh loss intervention for overweight black women residing in 8 DSN rural communities.

Research Team:

Monica Baskin, Ph.D., Project Leader, UAB Division of Preventative Medicine
(205) 934-8960
mbaskin@uab.edu

Jennifer Robinson, Ph.D., Co-Leader, University of Mississippi Medical Center
(601) 815-6206
jcrobinson@umc.edu

Claudia Hardy, Program Director
(205) 975-5454
chardy@uab.edu

Kalvin Allen, Research Project Manager
(205) 934-0652
kallen01@uab.edu

John Marron, Data Manager
(205) 975-0904
jvmarron@uab.edu

Selina Todd, Program Coordinator
(205) 934-0684
stodd@uab.edu

Diana Colvin-Ejiofor, Research Specialist
(205) 975-0905
v1663@uab.edu

Debra Henderson, Program Administrator II
(205) 975-0903
dkelley@uab.edu

 

Mississippi

Cordie Walker, Regional Coordinator
cord53@msn.com

Annie Perry, Panola County, MS
anniepes@uab.edu

Beulah Lawson, Yazoo County, MS
blawsonhs@yahoo.com

Debbie Hill, Humphreys County, MS
debbiejfhill@gmail.com

Mary Stewart, Grenada County, MS
mlou01@cableone.net

 

Alabama

Glenda James, Sumter County, AL
glenda.r.james@gmail.com

Mary Jo Henry, Bullock County, AL
mary401@ymail.com

Pamela D. Luckey Carter, Perry County, AL
pamluckey@hotmail.com

 

Research Counties

Alabama: Bullock, Perry, Sumter, Wilcox

Mississippi: Grenada, Humphreys, Panola, Yazoo

Leave a Reply