Gifts of Stock

UAB accepts gifts of publicly traded securities including stocks, bonds and mutual funds.  This type of gift may be transferred electronically or delivered in certificate form.  It is the University’s general policy for all publicly traded securities to be sold upon receipt.  All gifts of stock should be accompanied by a letter from the donor stating his/her intention to give the securities to UAB.

To receive prompt credit for your gift, please contact Chris Thomason, Senior Director of Development for the Comprehensive Cancer Center, at (205) 934-0930 or cthomason@uab.edu with the following information:

–Your intention to make a gift to UAB
–The estimated transfer date
–The name of your securities firm
–The name and contact information of your broker
–The intended purpose of the gift

Electronic Transfer

UAB has established brokerage accounts at a number of local and national firms; however, our main account resides at Sterne Agee & Leach, Inc. and all gifts of securities should be directed there if possible.  Securities should be transferred to the following:

Location: Sterne Agee & Leach, Inc.
DTC: 0750
A/C Name: UAB
A/C Number: 83298260
Attention: Peggy Cobb
Contact Info: (205) 226-3228, Fax: (205) 252-6795,  pcobb@sterneagee.com

Physical Delivery

Securities, with properly completed endorsement(s) or stock power(s), should be hand delivered to UAB.  Contact John Pelliccio for instructions on how to properly prepare your documents. So that we may better serve you, please call and schedule an appointment to deliver these documents.

Contact Names and Information for Help in Making a Gift

John S. Pelliccio
Securities and Electronic Funds Transfer
(205) 934-2172 (P)
(205) 975-9746 (F)
johnp@uab.edu

Daphne Powell
Donor Stewardship
(205) 934-1807 (P)
(205) 934-7686 (F)
daphnep@uab.edu

Elizabeth Ponder
Planned Giving
(205) 934-0759 (P)
(205) 934-7686 (F)
eponder@uab.edu

Annette Forehand
Gift Records and Donor Services
(205) 975-9012 (P)
(205) 975-4756 (F)
forehand@uab.edu

Chris Thomason
Charitable Gifts for Cancer-Related Areas
(205) 934-0930 (P)
(205) 975-2432 (F)
cthomason@uab.edu

Leave a Reply