Young Supporters Board

YSB-smalllogoThe Young Supporters Board of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center was established in 2006 to introduce the next generation of Alabamians to the importance of cancer research and awareness. The board is comprised of up-and-coming professionals between the ages of 22 and 40, all of whom have been touched by cancer in some way. Several members are survivors themselves.

The Young Supporters Board hosts projects and fundraisers throughout the year, including the annual Cinco de Mayo-themed Fiesta Ball. The proceeds from these events go toward the board’s Young Investigator Grants, which fund the research of young scientists at the Cancer Center.

The board also provides services and activities for cancer patients in both the center’s inpatient and outpatient units. Throughout the year, board members visit and talk to patients and provide them with meals and holiday treats.

Interested in joining the Young Supporters Board? Click here to download an application.

The board encourages younger members of the community to volunteer with its events and/or patient service activities. To learn more, call Ashley Foster at (205) 934-0034 or e-mail

Click here to like us on Facebook!

Click here to make a gift and support the research of promising young cancer scientists!


Young Supporters Board Officers
Mary-Margaret Brown – President
Danielle Downing – Vice President of Strategic Planning
Scott Laney – Vice President of Advisory Board Relations
Laura Senn – Secretary/Treasurer
Alicia Waters – Scientist Liaison
Cole Gresham and Virginia Hazelrig – Income Development Chairs
Joey Azar and Jennifer McEwen – Patient and Family Services Chairs
Suzanne Alvarez and Joe Griffin – Communications and Public Relations Chairs
Lauren DeMoss – Immediate Past President

Young Supporters Board Members
Charlie Adams
Walker Badham
Kristen Bailey
Rebecca Beers
Kelsey Blair
Danae Boyd
Harrison Bradford
Matt Bragiel
Ryan Brooks
Callen Clyce
Gayle Douglas
Sidney Fry
Ed Hauser
Martha Hawthorne
Katie Kimbrell
Gaines Livingston
Sarah Martin
Doug McCrary
Maloree McDonough
Brooke Moor
Colin Moorhouse
Will Northcutt
Leslie Parker
Rachel Powell
Whitney Price
Lochrane Smith
Amy O’Neal Stevens
Katie Terry

Leave a Reply