Young Supporters Board

The Young Supporters Board of the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center was established in 2006 to introduce the next generation of Alabamians to the importance of cancer research and awareness. The board is comprised of up-and-coming professionals between the ages of 22 and 40, all of whom have been touched by cancer in some way. Several members are survivors themselves.

The Young Supporters Board hosts projects and fundraisers throughout the year, including the annual Cinco de Mayo-themed Fiesta Ball. The proceeds from these events go toward the board’s Young Investigator Grants, which fund the research of young scientists at the Cancer Center.

The board also provides services and activities for cancer patients in both the center’s inpatient and outpatient units. Throughout the year, board members visit and talk to patients and provide them with meals and holiday treats.

Interested in joining the Young Supporters Board? Click here to download an application.

The board encourages younger members of the community to volunteer with its events and/or patient service activities. To learn more, call Melissa Donaldson at (205) 934-0034 or e-mail

Click here to like us on Facebook!

Click here to make a gift and support the research of promising young cancer scientists!


Young Supporters Board Officers
Charlie Adams – President
Scott Laney – Vice President of Strategic Planning
Laura Senn – Vice President of Advisory Board Relations
Rebecca Beers – Secretary/Treasurer
Alicia Waters – Scientist Liaison
Joe Griffin and Virginia Hazelrig – Income Development Chairs
Callen Clyce and Whitney Price – Patient and Family Services Chairs
Suzanne Alvarez and Katie Kimbrell – Communications and Public Relations Chairs
Mary-Margaret Brown – Immediate Past President

Young Supporters Board Members
Joey Azar
Jacob Baker
Cliff Bell
Shannon Boi
Bess Booth
Danae Boyd
Harrison Bradford
Matt Bragiel
Lauren DeMoss
Gayle Douglas
Danielle Downing
Jessica DuBois
Cole Gresham
Anna Harris
Ed Hauser
Frank Ippolito
Emily Journy
Rachel Lynch
Sarah Martin
Doug McCrary
Maloree McDonough
Jennifer McEwen
Will Northcutt
Rachel Powell
Victoria Rutledge
Blair Smith
Carolyn Smith
Lochrane Smith
Amy O’Neal Stevens
Katie Terry
Chris Walker

Leave a Reply